Crestmark Recognized with Financial Literacy Award; Volunteers with 2012 Teach Children to Save Program

FinancialLiteracyApple_2012Crestmark was awarded the Michigan Bankers Association 2012 Financial Literacy Award – Southeast Michigan, for their involvement in the 2011 Teach Children to Save program. The award was presented and accepted on May 22, 2012 by Crestmark Vice President Sharmen McVay who spearheads the initiative.

In the 2012 Teach Children to Save program, eleven Crestmark employees partnered again with The American Bankers Association for the sixth year. The volunteers presented lessons on saving to over 550 students ranging from kindergarten to 8th grade, in 19 classrooms throughout Oakland County, Michigan from May through June.


The bankers joined thousands of financial professionals from across the country as part of a national campaign. The goal of the campaign is to educate young people about the importance of developing lifelong savings habits through activities, interactive scenarios and discussing real-life experiences. Students and parents can also access additional educational resources at the Teach Children to Save website:


 “The Crestmark team really enjoys this project every year,” said Sharmen McVay, Vice President, Crestmark. “It’s rewarding to think that we can help provide valuable lessons to children that will last for their lifetime… and to be recognized by the Michigan Bankers Association is icing on the cake.”


Crestmark is a nationally recognized provider of innovative financial solutions for small- to medium-sized businesses.  Financing solutions include asset-based lending, accounts receivable financing, lines of credit and factoring.  Crestmark finances most business-to-business companies, and has extensive experience in many industries including transportation, manufacturing, staffing, government contractors, apparel and furniture manufacturing. Headquartered in Michigan, with offices in Florida, Louisiana, Tennessee, New York, Alabama, California, Georgia, Illinois, Ohio, Missouri, North Carolina, and Texas.